Creating Shorelines

28 Jan

I’ve been thinking a lot about attitude. One of those inspirational posters I used to read always said, “Your attitude determines your altitude.” I think to some degree this is true in my own life. I’ve been learning this lately with my word, “joy”. If my circumstances stay the same but I make an effort to change my outlook, things look quite a bit brighter. The situation might not have changed that much to an outsider, but I have changed my response to my present circumstances which makes all of the difference.

 

There’s a way to make a decision to not let things affect you as much. Some people call it setting a “boundary.” The other day I heard to it referred to as a personal “shoreline.” As I’ve been thinking about beaches non-stop, “shoreline” sounds great to me and much more friendly than a “boundary.”

 

So, I’ve started to set some “shorelines” in my life. I’ve begun to tell people “no” when I need time to myself. I’ve realized when I start to over schedule, take notice of it, and begin to take steps to change. Sometimes, like this week in particular, I become overcommitted and realize it too late. But so far, the steps I’m taking are simple enough that after weeks like this, I can easily assess what I need and try again.

 

I’ve started taking a few hours each weekend to clean up my room (which has actually been really freeing), and then I take some time to go to the beach and just sit still for a few moments. For me, there is nothing like it. Keeping my clutter at bay and then releasing my thoughts, feelings, and just the stressful state of my weeks at the beach has been nothing short of water to my soul. I’ve begun to give myself permission for things like hot baths, runs, walks around the neighborhood, laughter with friends. I’m becoming less harsh in my inner monologue. I’m learning to trust.

 

It’s a slow process but a worthwhile one! Note: Story is important. I think that my story is unfolding before my own and everyone else’s eyes. It’s unexpected. It’s surprising. It takes turns and twists and sometimes it involves heartbreak, amazing moments of revelation, and days when God just breaks through and shows me who I am and who he wants me to be. It’s all part of the journey.

2 Responses to “Creating Shorelines”

  1. Becca January 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Just wanted to take a moment to say I am blessed by your blog. I linked to it from a comment you left on Kristin Ritzau’s abeautifulmess.org.

    Keep writing and sharing from your life. Your journey matters!

    • purpleambrosia February 23, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Thanks, Becca. Movie review coming soon!

Leave a Reply

