A Wednesday Evening Sunset

30 Mar


Unexpected sunset,

Sea gazing,

God-craving,

Beautiful moments.

A mist grazes the wave tops.

I stop. Amazed by it.

Seagulls dive, surfers glide.

I open my hands to receive.

If I swallowed the last few minutes of day,

Maybe I could remember them here.

Instead I take pictures, I smell sea air.

And before I know it, the sun has whispered away behind the horizon,

Like a mother slipping out of the baby’s room just as it falls asleep.

Darkness begins to descend,

It’s tranquil, as more of a friend.

Not sinister, unkind, and gray,

Rather putting a cap on a warm spring day.

How many sunsets have I seen?

But none are ever quite the same.

A surprise to discover,

A joy to uncover,

Impossible to fully explain.

Leave a Reply

